A Toast by any other name…

This syrup drizzling delicacy is the pièce de résistance at any spread.

Ok, I know…not another French toast recipe! But this simple recipe remains one of my favourite. I cannot believe how many countries use bread as the main ingredient for desserts and all the different names they have for French Toast. It’s a cosmopolitan treat. It has got to say something about good old bread; basic, simple living and how important traditions are, right?
We make these for Christmas, Easter and New Year celebrations. I think I broke that tradition though because I make them so often. I really let them soak in the syrup! Hmmm… I wish I could add sound to this. They have a pillowy texture that melts in your mouth and the sweet syrup just squelches out as you bite into them!
Boy, I have to brush up on my adjectives….with time.
We call them Rabanadas. Pronounced ‘Rub anothers’ – almost. It has become a joke with the kids…they are certainly ‘have anothers’.

Despite this recipe being extremely easy, its reputation is tops in the yummy department.
I just could not resist eating these while photographing them. It was definitely one of the quickest and probably messiest sessions.

Heaven in your mouth.

These little babies feel right at home being served at a fancy dinner just as much as they do at a braai. When I don’t have much time, rabanadas always save the day. I always like to end my meal with something sweet, even if it’s just a little square of dark chocolate. I guess my son takes after me. He has just walked in and asked, “Do we have dessert?”
Oops, there are none tonight! They didn’t make it to supper time. Ice-cream will have to do.


I propose a ‘toast’ to good ol’ reliable bread.

Chin, chin!

Check out this novel variation that Gingerbread Bagels makes. Yum!

I would love to hear how you enjoy your French Toast….

Rabanadas – Golden Slices
Ingredients
1 Small Baguette
2 or 3 eggs
¼ cup milk or cream
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract

For the syrup
1 glass of water
1 cup brown sugar
¼ cup maple syrup
3 tsp vanilla extract
¼ cup Port wine/sherry
1 cinnamon stick
Lemon peel
Ground cinnamon
Castor sugar to sprinkle

Serves 6 people

1. Slice the baguette into thin slices
2. Mix the eggs, milk/cream, vanilla and cinnamon into a small bowl.
3. Into a frying pan pour enough oil to shallow fry the slices in.
4. Dip the slices one by one into the egg mix and fry them until golden brown on one side, then turn them and do the same. If the heat is too high, turn it down to medium so as not to burn the toast.. On the other hand, if the oil is too cold, the slices will become oily and soggy.
5. Remove from the pan and dry on a paper towel on both sides.
6. Arrange into a shallow serving bowl.
7. Sprinkle with cinnamon and castor sugar and let it stand for a while.
You can simply enjoy them as is, with sugar and cinnamon or drizzled with the syrup.

To make the syrup:
1. Pour 1 glass of water into a small pot. Add the sugar, syrup, vanilla, wine/sherry, cinnamon and lemon peel to taste (not too much peel).
2. Bring to the boil then let it simmer for 10 minutes.
3. Remove from heat and let it cool to room temperature.
4. Pour half of the syrup over the slices. Ten minutes later, turn them over and pour the remaining liquid over the slices.
5. In the summer these are best enjoyed cold and served with vanilla ice cream. They are just as delicious served hot.

Enjoy!
.

4 thoughts on “A Toast by any other name…

Leave a comment