Back to my roots!

When I’m pressed for time, I like to cook up something simple but tasty. Being Mozambican born and raised, most of the dishes I cook have a Portuguese and mediterranean influence. Tonight I grilled some chicken breasts marinaded in a typical Portuguese “basic” marinade. The equivalent of a “prego roll” but with chicken. This always goes down well with the family. I see so many variations of this marinade, but this is the recipe I picked up from my mother.

Basic Portuguese Marinade

4 Chopped Fresh Garlic Cloves
1 cup White wine for white meat or Red wine for red meats
3 Tsp Olive Oil
1/4 cup Freshly squeezed lemon Juice
3 Large Bay leaves
Chopped Chillies
1Tsp Paprika
Coarse Salt

2 thoughts on “Back to my roots!

  1. I really enjoyed your Blog especially because it is about food and I love to cook.
    You can keep on sending recipes…

    P.S. How about a nice ” Bacalhau com natas” ?

Leave a Reply

